• Durham OnAir

North East Author Glenda Young Releases Next Title: A Mothers Christmas Wish


Bestselling author Glenda Young continues to shine a light on the North East with the highly

anticipated release of her new book ‘A Mother’s Christmas Wish’, a compelling seasonal

saga filled with romance, drama and tragedy. The heart-warming festive saga of family, love

and sacrifice is out in paperback on 24 th November 2022 and is published by Headline.

Will her dream come true this year?


"I hope this Christmas is better than last year"


Following a scandalous affair, wayward Emma Devaney is sent in disgrace from her home in

Ireland to Ryhope, where she will live with her widowed aunt, Bessie Brogan, and help run

her pub. Bessie is kind but firm, and at first Emma rebels against her lack of freedom.


Struggling to fit in, she turns to the wrong person for comfort, and becomes pregnant. 


Accepting she must embrace her new life for the sake of her baby, Emma pours her energy

into making the pub thrive and helping heal the fractured relationship between Bessie and

her daughters. She catches the attention of Robert, a gruff but sincere farmer, who means

to win her heart. 


As December approaches, thankful for the home and acceptance she's found, Emma is determined to bring not just her family, but the whole Ryhope community, together to

celebrate - and to make one very special mother's Christmas dreams come true.


Inspired by her lifelong love of soap operas, Glenda’s gritty and dramatic books have a feisty young heroine at their core, showcasing strong North East women in times of adversity and putting female empowerment centre stage.





Glenda says: "This is my favourite of all my historical sagas so far. Emma is a troubled heroine sent to the North East from Loughshinny in Ireland. The touching relationship she

builds with her aunt Bessie will tug at your heart strings. It's a perfect Christmas read and

features the wonderful Irish tradition of 'Nollaig Na mBan', the Women's Christmas, a day

for women to celebrate Christmas their way"


With the success of six sagas already under her wing including Belle of the Back Streets, The Tuppenny Child, Pearl of Pit Lane, The Girl with the Scarlet Ribbon, The Paper Mill Girl and The Miner’s Lass, Glenda continues to bring immersive, historical literary experiences to her loyal fan base.


Glenda hit a winning streak with her historical sagas and the latest release is her seventh

with leading publisher Headline. With international sales, Glenda’s heart wrenching sagas

are filled with drama, tragedy, and romance, ideal for fans of Catherine Cookson, Dilly Court

and Rosie Goodwin.


As well as writing saga novels, Glenda now also has a further book deal with Headline to

write fun, cosy crimes set in Scarborough. Her first two cosy crimes Murder at the Seaview

Hotel and Curtain Call at the Seaview Hotel were shortlisted for the prestigious Dead Good

Reader Awards 2022. The awards, voted for by the public, saw Glenda up against

bestsellers Richard Osman and Val McDermid for this coveted and acclaimed award. The

awards ceremony took place at Theakston’s crime festival in Harrogate this year.


Glenda Young also runs two hugely popular Coronation Street fan websites which have an

impressive and international following. And she also writes Riverside, the first weekly soap

opera for The People’s Friend, the world’s longest-running women’s magzine. Her fiction is

regularly published in The People’s Friend, Take a Break, Best and My Weekly.


To celebrate the book release Glenda will be taking part in a number of events and book

signings across the region, leading onto a host of guest speaking events in 2023, to find out

more visit: www.glendayoungbooks.com


Glenda added:

“I have a host of events and book signings in the coming months and I’m really looking

forward to these. It’s so rewarding to receive feedback from my readers and to meet people

in person and hear their stories too. It really is a time during the book launch period that I

cherish.”