top of page
  • Durham OnAir

Bewley and Kirklevington Primary Head Teacher wins Gold Teaching Award

Maria Carlton, Executive Head Teacher at Bewley and Kirklevington Primary Schools has been announced as the gold winner of the Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School in the 2023 Pearson National Teaching Awards on BBC’s The One Show.

Maria has been recognised for her unwavering commitment to her students and the wider school community in Stockton On Tees.

Maria was nominated and selected as the gold award winner from thousands of nominees based on her inspirational teaching, contributions to her school and community, and influence among colleagues, as assessed by judges. The news was shared with Maria by Ronan Keating From The One Show.

As the Executive Head Teacher, Maria is the beating heart at Bewley and Kirklevington Primary Schools where she fosters happy and supportive communities. Children love coming to school and adults feel invested in supporting them to reach their potential. Maria is a strong and determined leader with a clear strategic vision. Her proactive and personable approach has removed potential barriers for staff - and her supportive nature ensures that they can come through times of challenge and adversity with her to support and guide.

During a week-long celebration (20-24 November) honouring inspirational educators across the country, BBC’s The One Show will announce seven of 16 gold award winners of the Pearson National Teaching Awards to shine a light on their amazing achievements.

This Saturday (25 November), the awards ceremony, known as the 'Oscars' of the teaching profession will be hosted by presenter and radio broadcaster Gaby Roslin. The Pearson National Teaching Awards is an annual celebration that honours the outstanding achievements of educators. It’s run by the Teaching Awards Trust, an independent charity now in its 25th year, and sponsored by Pearson, the world’s leading learning company. These awards celebrate the transformative impact of education, shining a spotlight on the pivotal roles of teachers, support staff, colleges, schools and early years educators and the work they deliver every single day.

Michael Morpurgo, author, former Children’s Laureate, and President of the Teaching Awards Trust, said: “We all know that a great teacher can enrich your life, can help you rise to the challenge, believe in yourself, find your own voice. I know that because it happened more than once to me. That’s why these Teaching Awards are so important and important to me. Every year, without fail, we see nominations which move and inspire us and this year we have seen stellar examples of life-changing role models for young people. I want to once again congratulate the winners of the 2023 Pearson National Teaching Awards and thank them for the incredible impact they have on our communities.”

Sharon Hague, Managing Director of Schools at Pearson UK, said: “It’s an honour to celebrate and express gratitude to our teachers and the incredible impact they have on our communities. The hard work that goes into teaching and showing up for students day in and day out cannot be underestimated. Congratulations to all winners and thank you for your continuous efforts.”

Gillian Keegan, Secretary of State for Education, said: “The impact of a teacher on a child's life can be immeasurable - I know it was for me. I am so grateful to all the staff in our schools and colleges for everything they do. This year marks 25 years of the Teaching Awards Trust, which is a huge landmark. Teachers change lives and we should all feel a sense of gratitude to those we are celebrating today. Thank you again and congratulations.”

Paul Matthias, National Education Director at Hays, Sponsor of The Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School says: “The headteacher's role is fundamental in establishing a strong foundation throughout the entire school, and teachers bring these ideals to life within the heart of the school community. We are honoured to be sponsoring an event which celebrates the brilliant work of educators and especially the Award for Headteacher of the Year in a Primary School. Congratulations Maria Carlton."


bottom of page